HomeSportsCricketUsman Khawaja won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year 2023
ads banner
ads banner

Usman Khawaja won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year 2023

Usman Khawaja won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year 2023

Australian opening batter, Usman Khawaja has been named as the ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year for 2023. Khawaja managed to beat his compatriot Travis Head, India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, and England’s Joe Root for the coveted accolade.

The left-handed opener was the only player to cross the 1000 runs mark in the test format in 2023. He ended the year with a total of 1210 runs in 13 matches on his name. Khawaja made his mark in the BGT 2023 ending the series as the top run-scorer among both teams. He scored 333 runs in four matches which included a ton & two fifties.

Khawaja failed to impress during Australia’s WTC over India but bounced back in the Ashes 2023. He impressed one & all by ending the series as the highest run-scorer with 496 runs on his name. Khawaja ended the year 2023 on a gleaming note with two tons against South Africa (195*) and India (180) but kept his best for arch-rivals England in the Ashes.

After England made a declaration at 393-8 in the first innings of the opening Test, England managed to pressure Australia by scalping early wickets. But then Khawaja came to their rescue by stitching crucial stands with Travis Head, Cameron Green, and Alex Carey as he made his way to a well-deserved century that helped Australia get close to England’s total. It was Khawaja’s efforts that helped Australia to win the first Test which proved to be vital for Australia as they could retain the SAshes series.

Nat Sciver becomes ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Usman Khawaja won the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year 2023
Image Credits: Crictoday

Coming to Women’s Cricket Sciver Brunt was able to win the prestigious ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year for the second time running. Throughout 2023 her exceptional performance on the field was visible with her contributions in vital events. Sciver played a big role in the Women’s Ashes series against Australia which they won with flying colors.

Brunt beat some tough competition including Chamari Athapaththu & Ash Gardner & Beth Mooney to win the prize. Her prowess in ODIs helped her to win the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year award. In just six matches, she amassed an impressive 393 runs at an extraordinary average of 131, which included three centuries. Overall Brunt now bags eight ODI tons which is just one ton less than the English national record held by Tammy Beaumont and Charlotte Edwards, who each have nine.

Sciver Brunt has also produced commendable performances in Test format. She has recorded two fifties in Tets format against both Australian & Indian women. Her prowess with the bat was visible throughout the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, where she emerged as England’s leading run-scorer. She tallied 216 runs with a dynamic strike rate of 141.17.

Also read, Virat Kohli crowned ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer Of the Year 2023


Sports Headlines