HomeSportsCricketThe Hundred releases Players Draft for 2024 Season
ads banner
ads banner

The Hundred releases Players Draft for 2024 Season

The Hundred releases Players Draft for 2024 Season

England’s prolific player, Jason Roy will not play in the Hundred 2024 after being unselected in the Players draft which was held on Wednesday at the Shard in London. Jason is currently without a team after being released by Defending Champions Oval Invincibles Lineup.

Jason Roy showed up for each & every game of Invincibles last season but failed to make any impact as he got dismissed for more ducks than the fifties & was thereby released by their Head Coach Tom Moody in February. He entered the draft with a reserve price of £100,000, but the eight men’s teams prioritized overseas players in the early rounds. His compatriot Mark Wood who entered with a £100,000 reserve price stayed unselected but his non-selection didn’t garner attention as he had pulled out of the first three seasons of the Hundred through injury or to manage his workload.

England’s red-ball team will miss the beginning of the competition beginning on July 23 due to a clash with the third Test against West Indies. Roy could feature in the Hundred 2024 as a replacement but his snub highlights a swift decline in Roy’s standing in the four-and-a-half years since England’s 2019 World Cup win.

Players with top-bracket deals in the Hundred 2024 Season

The Hundred releases Players Draft for 2024 Season
Image Credits: The Times

Five out of seven players were chosen in the top bracket of £125,000 contracts in the men’s draft with new Northern Superchargers coach Andrew Flintoff choosing Nicholas Pooran as the first signing of the draft. Andre Russell and Shimron Hetmyer will play for London Spirit, Kieron Pollard has joined Southern Brave and Rovman Powell was a top pick at Trent Rockets.

While some West Indies players may miss the first few matches due to their involvement in MLC. They are expected to be available for the majority of the Hundred 2024 & will miss the T20I Series against South Africa. The ECB held talks with the Caribbean Premier League’s organizers earlier this year to avoid a clash with the Hundred, which might be agreed on.

Coming back to the Hundred 2024 Draft, Tom Tom Kohler-Cadmore becomes the top earner, joining Welsh Fire on a £125,000 deal. He will play alongside Shaheen Shah Afridi, who was brought back after his success last summer, while Shaheen’s Pakistan team-mate Naseem Shah was a top-bracket pick by Birmingham Phoenix.

Southern Brave got the services of Laurie Evans who initially had two seasons with Manchester Originals. While Dawid Malan – the leading run-scorer in the Rockets’ 2022 title – was a £50,000 signing by the Invincibles. Ollie Pope and Richard Gleeson have both joined London Spirit, while the Originals have brought in Sikandar Raza and Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Women’s Hundred 2024 Draft: How the Squad Stack up

ECB’s landmark decision of increasing the salaries in the Women’s Hundred drafts was accepted by several leading Australian players who entered the draft, with Beth Mooney (Manchester Originals), Meg Lanning (London Spirit), Ash Gardner (Trent Rockets), and Annabel Sutherland (Northern Superchargers) all picking up £50,000 contracts.

Amy Jones was a surprise first pick of the draft who returned to  Birmingham Phoenix after failing to agree to retention last month, while Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu was the first pick for the Invincibles. Smriti Mandhana was picked by Southern Brave while Richa Ghosh grabbed the deal with Birmingham Phoenix. Notably, they are the two Indian players selected in the draft.

For the unversed, Each team will have a chance to add two players to both their men’s & women’s lineup ahead of their season beginning in July. These are the players who will be offered wildcard contracts based on their performances in domestic T20 cricket. These will be worth £30,000 in the men’s competition and £8,00`0 in the women’s.

Hundred 2024 Complete Squads

Birmingham Phoenix

Men’s Squad: Chris Woakes, Naseem Shah, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Ben Duckett, Benny Howell, Adam Milne, Jamie Smith, Will Smeed, Sean Abbott, Tom Helm, James Fuller, Dan Mousley, Jacob Bethell

 Women’s squad: Amy Jones, Sophie Devine, Richa Ghosh, Ellyse Perry, Katie Levick, Issy Wong, Emily Arlott, Hannah Baker, Seren Smale, Alisa Lister, Chloe Brewer, Sterre Kalis, Charis Pavely

London Spirit

 Men’s squad: Zak Crawley, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Nathan Ellis, Dan Lawrence, Liam Dawson, Dan Worrall, Olly Stone, Adam Rossington, Richard Gleeson, Ollie Pope, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Matthew Critchley, Michael Pepper

 Women’s squad: Meg Lanning, Heather Knight, Grace Harris, Danielle Gibson, Charlie Dean, Sarah Glenn, Cordelia Griffith, Georgia Redmayne, Eva Gray, Sophie Munro, Hannah Jones, Tara Norris, Niamh Holland

Manchester Originals

 Men’s squad: Jos Buttler, Jamie Overton, Phil Salt, Sikandar Raza, Paul Walter, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Tom Hartley, Usama Mir, Wayne Madsen, Josh Tongue, Max Holden, Josh Hull, Fred Klaassen, Mitchell Stanley

 Women’s squad: Beth Mooney, Sophie Ecclestone, Sophie Molineux, Laura Wolvaardt, Lauren Filer, Eve Jones, Emma Lamb, Mahika Gaur, Fi Morris, Kathryn Bryce, Phoebe Graham, Ellie Threlkeld, Liberty Heap

Northern Superchargers

Men’s squad: Ben Stokes, Nicholas Pooran, Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Reece Topley, Daniel Sams, Matthew Short, Brydon Carse, Adam Hose, Tom Lawes, Matthew Potts, Graham Clark, Callum Parkinson, Ollie Robinson

Women’s squad: Annabel Sutherland, Phoebe Litchfield, Georgia Wareham, Kate Cross, Bess Heath, Linsey Smith, Alice Davidson-Richards, Hollie Armitage, Grace Ballinger, Marie Kelly, Lucy Higham, Ella Claridge, Devina Perrin

Oval Invincibles

Men’s squad: Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Adam Zampa, Jordan Cox, Gus Atkinson, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Spencer Johnson, Dawid Malan, Nathan Sowter, Donovan Ferreira, Tom Lammonby, Tawanda Muyeye

Women’s squad: Chamari Athapaththu, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tash Farrant, Mady Villiers, Paige Scholfield, Sophia Smale, Ryana MacDonald-Gay, Jo Gardner, Lizzie Scott, Georgie Boyce

Southern Brave

Men’s squad: Jofra Archer, Kieron Pollard, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Laurie Evans, Leus du Plooy, Akeal Hosein, Rehan Ahmed, Craig Overton, Finn Allen, Danny Briggs, George Garton, Alex Davies

Women’s squad: Smriti Mandhana, Danni Wyatt, Chloe Tryon, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Freya Kemp, Naomi Dattani, Georgia Adams, Lauren Cheatle, Kalea Moore, Tilly Corteen-Coleman, Rhianna Southby, Mary Taylor

Trent Rockets

Men’s squad: Joe Root, Rovman Powell, Rashid Khan, Imad Wasim, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Luke Wood, Tom Banton, John Turner, Sam Hain, Sam Cook, Calvin Harrison, Jordan Thompson, Adam Lyth

Women’s squad: Ash Gardner, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Grace Scrivens, Alana King, Heather Graham, Bryony Smith, Katie George, Kirstie Gordon, Grace Potts, Alexa Stonehouse, Josie Groves, Kira Chathli, Cassidy McCarthy

Welsh Fire

Men’s squad: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Willey, Shaheen Afridi, Joe Clarke, Haris Rauf, Tom Abell, Glenn Phillips, David Payne, Luke Wells, Roelof van der Merwe, Jake Ball, Stevie Eskinazi, Chris Cooke

Women’s squad: Hayley Matthews, Sophia Dunkley, Shabnim Ismail, Tammy Beaumont, Jess Jonassen, Georgia Elwiss, Sarah Bryce, Freya Davies, Phoebe Franklin, Emily Windsor, Ella McCaughan, Claire Nicholas, Alex Griffiths

Also read, MS Dhoni leaves CSK Captaincy, Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead


Sports Headlines