HomeSportsCricketIndia Rings in Changes for Test Against England in Rajkot
ads banner
ads banner

India Rings in Changes for Test Against England in Rajkot

India Rings in Changes for Test Against England in Rajkot

India Rings in Changes for Crucial Third Test Against England in Rajkot

Seeking to build on their momentum after leveling the five-match Test series against England 1-1, India unveiled a revamped lineup for the crucial third encounter at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Thursday.

With captain Rohit Sharma electing to bat first after winning the toss, the hosts introduced two exciting debutants and made two other impactful changes to their playing XI.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dhruv Jurel and middle-order batter Sarfaraz Khan received their maiden Test caps, marking a significant moment in their budding careers.

The 26-year-old Khan, renowned for his prolific run-scoring exploits in domestic cricket, earned his call-up in the absence of Virat Kohli, who is on a personal break. Jurel, a wicketkeeper known for his aggressive batting style, replaces Srikar Bharat, who kept wickets in the previous two Tests.

Explaining the reasoning behind the selection, Rohit said, “Rajkot is known for being a good batting pitch, and winning the toss allows us to capitalize on that by putting up a strong total. While the series has been exciting so far, these next three Tests will be equally crucial. We need to maintain our focus and execute our plans effectively.”

The other two changes saw Mohammed Shami return to the attack in place of Umesh Yadav, while Washington Sundar replaced Ravindra Jadeja, who is unavailable due to injury. These alterations reflect India’s intent to bolster their batting and bowling capabilities for the pivotal third Test.

With the series finely poised, England will be determined to bounce back after their defeat in Vizag. However, India’s fresh faces and renewed energy present a formidable challenge. The stage is set for an enthralling encounter in Rajkot, with both teams vying for supremacy in this marquee Test series.

England Squad: Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, James Anderson, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes (wicketkeeper), Mark Wood, Tom Hartley, Rehan Ahmed.

India Squad: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravindra Jadeja, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

India Rings in Changes for Test Against England in Rajkot

Sports Headlines