HomeSportsCricketBCCI, CA & ECB Planning To Revive Champions League T20
ads banner
ads banner

BCCI, CA & ECB Planning To Revive Champions League T20

BCCI, CA & ECB Planning To Revive Champions League T20

Much to the delight of the T20 enthusiasts, the Championship League T20 tournament is likely to make its comeback in the cricket landscape. As per reports, the BCCI, ECB, and Cricket Australia are contemplating reviving the Championship League T20 tournament.

The last edition of the Championship League T20 tournament took place in 2014 with Chennai Super Kings winning it after beating KKR in the final. The tournament started in the year 2009 and completed six seasons before coming to a halt.

The CEO of Cricket Victoria, Nick Cummins opened up on the plans for the revival of the tournament. He reckoned that the tournament started way earlier as it wasn’t mature at that time.

“I think the Champions League was ahead of its time. The T20 landscape wasn’t mature enough at that point. I think it is now. I know that there’s active conversations between Cricket Australia, the ECB, and the BCCI about the Champions League,” Cummins was quoted as saying by ESPNCricinfo.

Nick Cummins Reveals Plans For Revival of Champions League T20

Nick Cummins went on to reveal that the three big boards are in talks of reviving the tournament. Amidst a packed cricket career, trying to find a window, though, is a big challenge. Cummins also stated that the boards are planning to start the Champions League for the women before the men’s.

“It’s just trying to find a window as to when you actually play that, because you’ve also got all the ICC tournaments as well. It may be that the first iteration of the Champions League will be of the women… [it may involve cricketers playing in] the WPL, the Hundred and the WBBL,” he added.

“I’m constantly talking to Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia CEO, for a Champions League, because I think it’s pretty important to bring that back. There are talks about it. It’s probably a question to ask Jay Shah. But certainly, from an Australia cricket perspective, we are very open to the idea of the Champions League. It’s just about finding a window in the FTP, but I think that’s the next step in the evolution of cricket,” Cummins further said.

When the last edition of the Champions League T20 tournament took place, three teams from India and two teams each from Australia and South Africa participated. Mumbai Indians won the tournament twice in 2011 and 2013. Chennai Super Kings, on the other hand, also won the competition twice in 2010 and 2014.

The inaugural edition of the tournament was won by New South Wales Blues, while Sydney Sixers won the title in 2012.

Read More: SUS vs KTN Live Score, Kuwait Ramadan T10 Challengers Cup

Sports Headlines