HomeSportsCricketAsia Cup 2023: Schedule, Format, Squad & Other Details
ads banner
ads banner

Asia Cup 2023: Schedule, Format, Squad & Other Details

Asia Cup 2023: Schedule, Format, Squad & Other Details

Asia Cup Cricket Tournament All Details 

The Asia Cup 2023 is the 16th installment of the tournament, featuring One Day Internationals (ODIs) this year. After some earlier controversies, it has been decided that Pakistan and Sri Lanka will jointly host the event.

The matches are scheduled for August and September 2023. Sri Lanka is the defending champion who won the finals in 2021, and this will be the first Asia Cup hosted by multiple countries, with four matches in Pakistan and nine in Sri Lanka.

Which Teams Are Taking Part in 2023 Asia Cup?

In Asia Cup 50 overs, we will see 6 teams playing against each other. ACC Asia Cup in 2023 will feature the five full members of the Asian Cricket Council – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Joining them will be Nepal, who earned their spot by winning the 2023 ACC Men’s Premier Cup, making it their debut in the Asia Cup.

Originally slated for 2021, the event was rescheduled to 2023 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The fixtures for the tournament were officially announced on 19th July 2023, gearing up for an exciting cricketing spectacle in August and September 2023.

  • India 
  • Afghanistan 
  • Bangladesh
  • Nepal 
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka 

Hosting Controversies Surrounding 2023 Asia Cup

The hosting of the 2023 edition of Asia Cup underwent several changes due to the political tensions between countries. Initially, Pakistan was set to host the tournament, but it was postponed to 2023, with Sri Lanka taking up the hosting duties in 2022.

In October 2022, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that India would not travel to Pakistan due to the ongoing political issues, leading to the decision of holding the Asia Cup 2023 at a neutral venue. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) requested an emergency meeting to discuss the matter.

In March 2023, Pakistan proposed a hybrid model, suggesting they remain as hosts with some India matches played at a neutral venue. However, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh rejected this proposal.

Finally, on 15th June 2023, the Asian Cricket Council declared the tournament would follow a hybrid model, with four matches in Pakistan and nine matches in Sri Lanka, allowing for a balanced hosting arrangement.

Full Schedule of 2023 Edition of Asia Cup 

The upcoming Asia Cup 50 overs tournament 2023 will feature a total of 13 matches, with the tournament format comprising six league matches, six Super 4 matches, and a final. Group A consists of India, Pakistan, and Nepal, who secured their place as champions of the 2023 ACC Men’s Premier Cup qualifier event. Group B includes defending champions Sri Lanka, along with Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

The competition will kick off with exciting group stage matches, and the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 4 stage. In the Super 4, the four remaining teams will compete against each other to determine the finalists.

The top two teams from the Super 4 will battle it out in the final match to claim the prestigious title of the Asia Cup 2023 champion. It promises to be an enthralling cricketing spectacle with fierce competition among the top teams in the Asian region.

Asia Cup 50 Overs 2023 Groups 

Group A: Pakistan, India Nepal

Match 1: Pakistan vs Nepal

Date: 30 August 2023

Venue: Multan Cricket Stadium

Match 2: India vs Pakistan

Date: 2 September 2023

Venue: Pallekele International Cricket     Stadium  

Match 3: India vs Nepal

Date: 4 September 2023

Venue: Pallekele International Cricket  Stadium 

Group B: Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan 

Match 1: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

Date: 31 August 2023

Venue: Pallekele International Cricket  Stadium 

Match 2: Afghanistan vs Bangladesh

Date: 3 September 2023

Venue: Gaddafi Stadium

Match 3: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka

Date: 5 September 2023

Venue: Gaddafi Stadium

Top two teams of both groups will go through knockout qualifiers. Then the qualifier winners will meet in Asia Cup 2023 finals.

Super 4 Stage

Match: A1 vs B2

Date: 6 September 2023

Venue: Gaddafi Stadium

Match: B1 vs B2

Date: 9 September 2023

Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium

Match: A1 vs A2

Date: 10 September 2023

Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium

Match A2 vs B1

Date: 12 September 2023

Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium

Match: A1 vs B1

Date: 14 September 2023

Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium

Match: A2 vs B2

Date: 15 September 2023

Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium

Asia Cup 2023 Final

Match: Super 4’s 1 vs Super 4’s 2

Date: 17 September 2023

Venue: R. Premadasa Stadium

2023 Asia Cup Teams’ Squad 

All six participating teams have been preparing for two years for this tournament. There have been some changes in last two years but a cracking encounter is expected among these teams with best players taking on the field.

Asia Cup India Squad

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami

Asia Cup Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam (c), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Naseem Shah, Salman Agha, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-haq, Iftikhar Ahmad, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Asia Cup Sri Lanka Squad

Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana

Asia Cup Afghanistan Squad

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fareed Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Asia Cup Bangladesh Squad

Mohammad Naim, Litton Das (c), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain

Asia Cup Nepal Squad

Aarif Sheikh, Aasif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Kushal Bhurtel, Sagar Dhakal, Gulsan Jha, Sundeep Jora, Karan KC, Kushal Malla, Sandeep Lamichhane, Kishore Mahato, Gyanendra Malla, Rohit Paudel, Pratis GC, Lalit Rajbanshi, Arjun Saud, Sompal Kami

Venues for Asia Cup 50-over tournament

There are four venues has been decided to host matches of the 2023 Asia Cup by ACC. Two of these grounds are built in Pakistan while other two are in Sri Lanka.

Venues for Asia Cup Cricket Tournament 2023:

  1. Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
  2. Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan
  3. R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
  4. Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy 

Which are teams taking part in this year’s Asia Cup?

In Asia Cup 50 overs 2023, these six teams will take part: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal

What will be the format of 2023 Asia Cup?

This year’s tournament will be played in 50 overs format.

Where can I get tickets of Asia Cup 50-over tournament 2023?

You can buy tickets of Asia Cup Cricket Tournament 2023 through online sites of Pakistan Cricket Board and Sri Lanka Cricket Board. Indian cricket fans can go to and book their tickets for India vs Pakistan clash.

Sports Headlines