HomeOthersFans react: Suryakumar Yadav win T20I Cricketer of the Year
ads banner
ads banner

Fans react: Suryakumar Yadav win T20I Cricketer of the Year

Fans react: Suryakumar Yadav win T20I Cricketer of the Year

For the second consecutive year, India’s valiant Twenty20 player Suryakumar Yadav has been voted the T20I Cricketer of the Year. Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, and Mark Chapman were among the other nominees for the title.

In 2023, Suryakumar Yadav scored more runs in the Twenty20 format, averaging about fifty and striking at a rate exceeding 150. After groyne surgery in Germany, he is presently undergoing rehabilitation. In March, he can make a comeback to the Indian Premier League, where he will play for the Mumbai Indians, the five-time champion team.

In recognition of his achievements in the shortest format over the previous 12 months, India’s Mr. 360, Suryakumar Yadav, received the Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2023 award. It’s an additional plume atop his head.

T20I Cricketer of the Year:

Fans react: Suryakumar Yadav win T20I Cricketer of the Year
Courtesy: The Indian Express

The ICC stated, “This batsman, the foundation of the Indian middle order, has won many matches. This is the second time in a row that he has received this honour. Suryakumar Yadav scored seven runs against Sri Lanka to begin the year, but he then continued to play well.”

ICC further added, “He scored 83 runs in 44 balls against West Indies and kept scoring runs in 20–40 consistently. In Florida, he added 61 runs in 45 balls against the West Indies. He batted well even though he had to shoulder the captaincy at the end of the season.”

In the Twenty20 match against South Africa, Suryakumar scored 56 runs in 36 balls and 80 runs in 42 balls against Australia. Aside from this, he had a great inning against South Africa in the most recent Twenty20, scoring 100 runs in 56 balls.

Suryakumar Yadav title deserving:

Fans react: Suryakumar Yadav win T20I Cricketer of the Year
Image Credits: BCCI

The Mumbai batter hit a grand slam early in the December series against South Africa; he is currently undergoing surgery for an ankle injury. At the end, he was the third-highest run scorer in T20Is worldwide.

Against Sri Lanka in January 2023, he hit the second-fastest century by an Indian batsman in T20 cricket history with 112 runs in 51 balls. In 2017, Rohit Sharma hit a century off of 35 balls in a match against Sri Lanka.

He finished 2023 as the third-highest run scorer in the shortest format, trailing only Roger Mukasa of Uganda and Muhammad Waseem of the United Arab Emirates. While the Ugandan scored 738 runs in 31 games this year, the UAE star has amassed 863 runs in 23 games.

The attention was primarily focused on 50-over matches in 2023, and the incredible right-hander was able to continue dominating T20Is during the World Cup. In T20Is for India, Surya scored his fourth century against South Africa. In just forty-five balls, he reached the three-figure mark.

In just 17 innings, he has scored 733 runs at a strike rate of 155.95 and an average of 48.86. With the aid of two hundreds, the 33-year-old Suryakumar amassed 733 runs in 18 T20 International matches in 2023. His average for this time frame was 48.86. He has so far amassed 300 runs in 7 games for India while serving as captain in this format.

The netizens have poured in their reactions on the players latest achievements. Check them out below.

So, this was all about the T20I Cricketer of the Year player Suryakumar Yadav. Also read, England skipper Kevin Pietersen get candid about Ram Mandir

Sports Headlines