HomeOthersDid U Know? Billionaire Mukesh Ambani owns 5 cricket teams
ads banner
ads banner

Did U Know? Billionaire Mukesh Ambani owns 5 cricket teams

Did U Know? Billionaire Mukesh Ambani owns 5 cricket teams

Through its subsidiary Indiawin Sports Private Limited, the Indian conglomerate Reliance Industries Limited (RIL), which is run by Mukesh Ambani, the country’s richest man, owns up to five cricket franchises. The business is headquartered in Mumbai and was established in 2007. With a net worth of $90.7 million (about Rs. 750 crores), according to Forbes, Mukesh Ambani was the second-richest sports team owner in the world in 2022 behind the United States. Read on to know all about the cricket teams of Billionaire Mukesh Ambani.

The Reliance Sports division is actively staffed by Nita Ambani and her son Akash Ambani. For instance, Mrs Ambani has regularly been sighted at stadiums during competitions when one of her teams competes. She was most recently spotted cheering for MI New York, the Major League Cricket (MLC) 2023 champions, in the stadium seats in Dallas, USA. Mrs Ambani has also encouraged the teams in numerous videos.

Billionaire Mukesh Ambani cricket teams:

Mumbai Indians:

Mumbai Indians, one of the original eight Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises, was founded in 2008 and has since established itself as a cricketing powerhouse. They share the record for being the most successful team in the IPL with five championships. The team won its maiden IPL trophy in 2013 while Rohit Sharma served as captain, and went on to win the league in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

Mumbai Indians are extremely well-liked due in large part to the presence of well-known players on the team as well as their ongoing success. Beyond their accomplishments on the pitch, the Mumbai Indians have achieved greatness in terms of brand value and monetary success. They became the first IPL franchise to have a brand value over $100 million in 2017. According to Forbes, they are the most valuable team in the IPL with an astronomical valuation of $1.3 billion (about Rs. 107 lakh crore). According to Mint, Ambani purchased the team in 2008 for about Rs 850 lakh.

Mumbai Indians Women’s Team:

Women’s Premier League, a T20 franchise cricket competition, has completed its inaugural season. The Indian Cricket Board organised the competition, which featured the Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Giants, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz. Reliance reportedly paid over Rs 912 crore to purchase the Mumbai Indians team, according to News18.

Mumbai Indians, who were coached by Charlotte Edwards and led by Harmanpreet Kaur, eventually won the championship. Along with the trophy, they received a financial award of Rs 6 crore.

MI Cape Town:

The inaugural SA20 tournament was conducted earlier this year and was put on by South Africa Cricket (SCA). Six teams competed in the T20 tournament, and one of those teams was MI Cape Town, which is owned by Reliance. With just three victories in 10 games, the team led by Rashid Khan and coached by Simon Katich came in last place in the standings.

MI Emirates:

MI Emirates was one of the six clubs that took part in the International League T20 (ILT20)’s debut season in the UAE earlier this year. With five victories and four losses in ten games, the Emirates placed third in the standings. Both the names of the SA20 team and the ILT20 team belonged to Reliance on the same day.

MI New York:

The Major League Cricket (MLC), America’s first significant T20 tournament, held its debut competition last month. The competition featured six teams from significant American cities, with Reliance-owned MI New York taking home the championship. MI New York triumphed over Seattle Orcas in the championship game, which was also owned by Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella.

So, this was all about the Billionaire Mukesh Ambani and his cricket teams. Also read, Friendship Day Special- Top 10 cricketer best friends.

Sports Headlines